It's All About PR

A Blog From A PR Student

TOW#3 Ethics of Social Media Monitoring

To be perfectly honest, when I first started thinking about this topic, I had the mindset that social media monitoring is unethical. I mean, why is it okay that an employer could use something against you when it has nothing to do with your work ehtic?

A perfect example of this:

If I am looking for a job as an entry level public relations person and I get interviewed with an agency and everything goes well, it seems like I will get hired. They review my work history and everything looks good. Well, then someone in the agency looks at my facebook and notices that I  am a very explicit personality.

Now, the agency is second guessing me for the position based on my personal life on facebook even though I would never act that way at work.

However, now I am thinking of it differently. I mean, if you know you are looking for a job and that some people will look you uo online. Then why wouldn’t you make sure you look good? Companies have the  right to see what kind of person they are hiring and you put yourself out there and present yourself in a certain way online. I think I am going to get a LinkedIn account for my professional contacts.

So I can understand both viewpoints on social media monitoring. I don’t think that people should base an opinion of you just off of what you do online. However, you should be very careful about how you present yourself when you don’t know who is looking at you.

Here is a video that will give you a better idea of social media monitoring and how it can be used effectively.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

